List of 28 Indian States, Union Terrirories and Capitals

If you want to know the details about the list of Indian States and Union Territories and their Capitals then you are at the right place.

India comes in second number in terms of the most populated countries are there currently in the world having more than 1.4 billion people and located in the Southern Asia region. India is also the largest populous democratic country in the world.

Being the largest democratic country It is not possible to manage the entire country from a single place by a single governing body. Indian constitution has given the power to the Indian government to divide the country into further small areas that will be managed by the other governing Bodies at a smaller scale.

By using constitutional power Indian government announces new states and territories from time to time. Indian Parliament can take some below-mentioned decisions if there is any need.

  • Announcement of new states.
  • Diminish the area of any State.
  • Change the name of any State:
  • Announcement of new union territories.
  • alter the boundaries of any State.
  • Make a separate territory from any current Indian state.
  • Separating territory by merging two or more states/ union territories.

List of 28 Indian States and Union Territories

Currently, there are 28 states and 8 Union Territories in India. There were 29 states and 7 Union Territories in India but on 31st October 2019, Jammu and Kashmir state has been re-constituted as two separate Union Territories ‘Jammu and Kashmir’ and ‘Ladakh’. The Parliament of India passes the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, on 5,6 August 2019 and re-constituted the erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir as two union territories, ‘Jammu and Kashmir’ and ‘Ladakh’, with effect from 31 October 2019. Currently, India has 8 Union Territories.

List of 28 States and their Capitals of India

Please find below the list of Indian States.

1. Andhra Pradesh

2. Arunachal Pradesh

3. Assam

4. Bihar

5. Chhattisgarh

6. Goa

7. Gujarat

8. Haryana

9. Himachal Pradesh

10. Jharkhand

11. Karnataka

12. Kerala

13. Madhya Pradesh

14. Maharashtra

15. Manipur

16. Meghalaya

17. Mizoram

18. Nagaland

19. Odisha

20. Punjab

21. Rajasthan

22. Sikkim

23. Tamil Nadu

24. Telangana

25. Tripura

26. Uttar Pradesh

27. Uttarakhand

28. West Bengal

Check all state’s capitals and date of establishment

S. No.State of IndiaCapitalDate of establishment
1.Andhra PradeshAmaravatiOctober 22, 2015
2.Arunachal PradeshItanagarFebruary 20, 1987
4.BiharPatnaJanuary 26, 1950
5.ChhattisgarhRaipurNovember 1, 2000
6.GoaPorvorimMay 30, 1987
8.HaryanaChandigarhNovember 1, 1966
9.Himachal PradeshShimlaJanuary 25, 1971
10.JharkhandRanchiNovember 15, 2000
11.KarnatakaBangaloreNovember 1, 1956
12.KeralaThiruvananthapuramNovember 1, 1956
13.Madhya PradeshBhopalNovember 1, 1956
14.MaharashtraMumbaiMay 1, 1960
15.ManipurImphalJanuary 21, 1972
16.MeghalayaShillongJanuary 21, 1972
17.MizoramAizawlFebruary 20, 1987
18.NagalandKohimaDecember 1, 1963
19.OdishaBhubaneswarJanuary 26, 1950
20.PunjabChandigarhNovember 1, 1966
21.RajasthanJaipurNovember 1, 1950
22.SikkimGangtokMay 16, 1975
23.Tamil NaduChennaiJanuary 26, 1956
24.TelanganaHyderabadJune 2, 2014
25.TripuraAgartalaJanuary 21, 1972
26.Uttar PradeshLucknowJanuary 26, 1950
27.UttarakhandGairsain (Summer)
Dehradun (Winter)
November 9, 2000
28.West BengalKolkataNovember 1, 1950

List of 8 Indian Union Territories and Capitals

Currently, there are 8 Union Territories in India.

Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her. From the largest to the smallest, each State/UT of India has a unique demography, history, culture, dress, festivals, language, etc.

1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands

2. Chandigarh

3. Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu

4. Delhi

5. Jammu and Kashmir

6. Lakshadweep

7. Puducherry

8. Ladakh

Please find below the list of Union Territories and their Capitals in India.

S. No.Union Territories NamesCapitalFounded on
1.Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort Blair1 Nov. 1956
2.ChandigarhChandigarh1 Nov. 1966
3.Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & DiuDaman26 Jan. 2020
4.DelhiNew DelhiFebruary 13, 1931
5.Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer)
Jammu (Winter)
31 Oct 2019
6.LakshadweepKavaratti1 Nov. 1956
7.PuducherryPondicherry1 Nov. 1954
8.LadakhLeh31 Oct 2019


  1. The Constitution of India Part I, National Portal of India, Accessed on: Sep 9, 2020. [Online]. Available:
  2. The Constitution of India – First Schedule, National Portal of India, Accessed on: Sep 9, 2020. [Online]. Available:
  3. States and Union Territories, Know India, Accessed on: Sep 9, 2020. [Online]. Available:

Visit to check NRA CET exam details.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.